Home » Employment News 2017-18 » Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 1991 to 2016

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 1991 to 2016

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna is the highest prize given to sportspersons in India. The award is named after the former Prime Minister of India, Rajiv Gandhi.

The award is conferred to deserving sportspersons for exceptional and outstanding performance in various sporting disciplines such as Athletics, Gymnastics, Billiards, Badminton, Boxing, Cricket, Chess, Field hockey, Shooting, Tennis, Snooker, Wrestling, and Weightlifting.

The award carries a cash prize of Rs. 7.5 lakh. It also comprises of a medallion and a certificate. There is a twelve-member committee that evaluates the performances of sportspersons at different International events such as the Olympic Games, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games and the Paralympics. This committee then submits their recommendations to the Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports, who take the final decision.

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award was instituted in 1991. When first introduced, the sportspersons were judged over a period of just one year. Now, based on a new set of criteria, the athletes are judged over a period of four years.

The very first recipient of this award was the greatest chess player of his generation, Grandmaster Viswanathan Anand. He received the prize in 1992. Olympic gold medalist Abhinav Bindra was the youngest recipient of the award, when he won it at the age of 18 in 2001.

Recently, badminton player P. V. Sindhu, who won silver at the Rio 2016 Olympics, was conferred the prize. Wrestler Sakshi Malik, who won a bronze in the Rio Olympics, has also been conferred the award. Gymnast Dipa Karmakar and shooter Jitu Rai have been awarded the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna as well.

Year, List of award recipients, and discipline(s)
1991–92Viswanathan AnandChess
1992–93Geet SethiBilliards
1993–94Homi MotivalaYachting
1993–94Garg Pushpendra KumarYachting
1994–95Karnam MalleswariWeightlifting
1995–96Nameirakpam KunjaraniWeightlifting
1996–97Leander PaesTennis
1997–98Sachin TendulkarCricket
1998–99Jyotirmoyee SikdarAthletics
1999–2000Dhanraj PillayHockey (Men)
2000–2001Pullela GopichandBadminton
2001Abhinav BindraShooting
2002K. M. BeenamolAthletics
2002Anjali BhagwatShooting
2003Anju Bobby GeorgeAthletics
2004Rajyavardhan Singh RathoreShooting
2005Pankaj AdvaniSnooker
2006Manavjit Singh SandhuShooting
2007Mahendra Singh DhoniCricket
2009Mary KomBoxing (Women)
2009Vijender SinghBoxing
2009Sushil KumarWrestling
2010Saina NehwalBadminton
2011Gagan NarangShooting
2012Vijay KumarShooting
2012Yogeshwar DuttWrestling
2013Ronjan SodhiShooting
2015Sania MirzaTennis
2016P. V. SindhuBadminton
2016Dipa KarmakarGymnastics
2016Jitu RaiShooting
2016Sakshi MalikWrestling

About Priyanka Singh

"By Priyanka Singh" - You can find Author on Google+. Our Employment News or Free Job Alert will help in getting all those vital information that can help you to select your best career option with just an email subscription. Subscribe to our Daily Employment News or Free Job Alert right now to get daily job updates in your mail box.
All candidates whether in Government Service or in Government owned undertaking or other similar organizations/ Corporations/ Boards/ Bodies or in private employments should forward his/ her application through his/ her Controlling Officer/ Employer.

Is this Sarkari Job is not relevant to your Qualification/ Experience/ Sector/ Company/ Location you want to work with; You can find All Education/ Experience/ Sector/ Company/ Location Latest Government Jobs Advertisement from Public Sector Units. Employment News - Explore your career opportunity.

Check Also

TVNL Recruitment 2017: 108 LDA, Clerk, Typist, Assistant Operator/ Engineer, Personnel/ Accounts/ Estate/ Safety Officer Posts

Tenughat Vidyut Nigam Limited (TVNL) invites applications from eligible candidates for recruitment of posts of …

BISCOMAUN Recruitment 2017: 122 MTS, Accounts Assistant Godown Manager, Range/ Marketing Officer, Engineer Posts

BISCOMAUN invites online application from eligible candidates for recruitment of the posts of Range Officer Cum …

Sarkari Naukri 2017: Latest Sarkari Naukri Job Openings

APRIL, 2017 Latest Sarkari Naukri Group A, Group B, Group C, Group D Post 2017-18: …

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!