Home | Employment News 2019 | Dronacharya Award Winner 1985 to 2017 | National Sports Award

Dronacharya Award Winner 1985 to 2017 | National Sports Award

Dronacharya Award Winner 1985 to 2017 | National Sports Award; Apply Now, and Stay connected for upcoming latest Alert on Exam Date, Admit Card, Question Papers, Answer Keys, and Result; Best of Luck for your Career.

While there are many awards offered by the Government of India to honor sportsmen and women for outstanding performances in various sports, there is only one that recognizes the contribution of coaches. It is called the Dronacharya Award and it is offered to coaches and trainers for dedicating their lives towards the task of producing outstanding athletes and sportspersons for the country.

The Dronacharya Award was first instituted in 1985. It carries a cash prize of Rs. 7 lakh, and comes with a tie, a blazer, a scroll and a suit. Also included is a bronze statue of Guru Dronacharya, the great teacher from the Mahabharata who taught archery to the mighty warrior prince Arjuna.

It is entirely appropriate that India’s highest award for coaches is named after Dronacharya, considering the fact that the nation’s highest sports award for outstanding performance in sports called the Arjuna Award. The winners of the Dronacharya Award include Indian and foreign coaches. B.I. Fernandez from Cuba is the first foreign coach to be given this award for his contribution to Indian boxing.

Some of the most famous recipients of this award are Ramakant Achrekar, who coached Sachin Tendulkar, and the great Pullela Gopichand, who has trained world class badminton players who have won great laurels for India such as Saina Nehwal and P.V. Sindhu.

The recipients are selected by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. The number of Dronacharya Awards given cannot exceed five in any calendar year.  Only individuals working as full time or part time coaches and who have had an excellent track record during the year for which the award is given, as well as for three years prior to that are eligible for the prize.

Dronacharya Awards 2017 Winners

S.No.Name of the AwardeeDiscipline
1G. S. S. V. PrasadBadminton (For Lifetime Contribution)
2Brij Bhushan MohantyBoxing (For Lifetime Contribution)
3.Roshan LalWrestling (For Lifetime Contribution)
4.Sanjoy ChakraverthyShooting (For Lifetime Contribution)
5.Heera Nand KatariaKabaddi
6.R. GandhiAthletics
7.P. A. RaphelHockey (For Lifetime Contribution)


Sr. No.YearSportsperson [Awardee]Sport [Discipline]
011985O.M. NambiarAthletics
021985Om Prakash BhardwajBoxing
031985Bhalchandra Bhaskar BhagwatWrestling
041986Raghunandan Vasant GokhleChess
051986Desh Prem AzadCricket
061987Gurcharan SinghCricket
071987Guru HanumanWrestling
081990Ramakant AchrekarCricket
091990Syed NaeemuddinFootball
101990A. Ramana RaoVolleyball
111994Ilyas BabarAthletics
121995Karan SinghAthletics
131995M. Shyam Sunder RaoVolleyball
141996Wilson JonesBilliards and Snooker
151996Pal Singh SandhuWeightlifting
161997Joginder Singh SainiAthletics
171998Bahadur SinghAthletics
181998>Hargobind Singh SandhuAthletics
201999Kenneth Owen BosenAthletics
211999Capt. Hawa SinghBoxing
221999Ajay Kumar SirohiWeightlifting
232000S.M. ArifBadminton
242000Gudial Singh BhanguHockey
252000Phadke Gopal PushottamKho-Kho
262000Bhupender DhawanPowerlifting
272000Hansa SharmaWeightlifting
282001Prof. Sunny ThomasShooting
292001Michael Joseph FerreiraBilliards and Snooker
302002Renu KohliAthletics
312002Jaswant SinghAthletics
322002M.K. KaushikHockey
332002E. Prasad RaoKabaddi
342002Cdr. H.D. MotivalaYachting
352003Robert Bobby GeorgeAthletics
362003Anoopkumar SaharanWomen’s boxing
372003Rajinder SinghHockey
382003Sukhchain Singh CheemaWrestling
392004Arvind SavurBilliards and Snooker
402004Sunita SharmaCricket
412004Cyrus PonchaSquash
422004Gurcharan SinghBoxing
432005Hony. Captain M VenuBoxing
442005Balwan SinghKabaddi
452005Maha Singh RaoWrestling
462005Ismail BaigRowing
472006R.D. SinghAthletics
482006Damodaran ChandralalBoxing
492006Koneru AshokChess
502007Sanjeev Kumar SinghArchery
512007Jagdish SinghBoxing
522007G.E. SridharanVolleyball
532007Jagminder SinghWrestling
542009Pullela GopichandBadminton
562009J. Uday KumarKabaddi
572009Baldev SinghHockey
582009Jaidev BishtBoxing
592010AK KuttyAthletics (For Lifetime Contribution)
602010Captain ChandrupWrestling (For Lifetime Contribution)
612010Ajay Kumar BansalHockey
622010Subhash AgarwalBilliards and Snooker
632010L Ibomcha SinghBoxing
642011Inukurthi Venkateshwara RaoBoxing
652011Devender Kumar RathoreGymnastics
672011Kuntal RoyAthletics
682011Rajinder SinghHockey
692012Virendra PooniaAthletics
702012Sunil DabasKabaddi (Women)
712012Yashvir SinghWrestling
722012Harendra SinghHockey
732012Satyapal SinghPara Sports(Athletics)
742012J.S. BhatiaAthletics
752012Bhavani MukharjeeTable Tennis
762012B.I. FernadezCuban Boxing Coach-Boxing (For Lifetime Contribution)
772013Poornima MahatoArchery
782013Mahavir SinghBoxing
792013Narinder Singh SainiHockey
802013K P ThomasAthletics
812013Raj SinghWrestling
822014Mahabir PrasadWrestling
832014Jose JacobRowing (For lifetime contribution)
842014N.LingappaAthletics (For lifetime contribution)
852014G. ManoharanBoxing (For lifetime contribution)
862014Gurcharan Singh GogiJudo (For lifetime contribution)
872015Anoop SinghWrestling
882015Naval SinghPara Athletics
892015Harbans SinghAthletics (For Lifetime Contribution)
902015Swatantra Raj SinghBoxing (For Lifetime Contribution)
912015Nihar AmeenSwimming (For Lifetime Contribution)
922016Nagapuri RameshAthletics
932016Sagar Mal DhayalBoxing
942016Raj Kumar SharmaCricket
952016Bishweshwar NandiGymnastics
962016Pradeep KumarSwimming (For Lifetime Contribution)
972016Mahavir Singh PhogatWrestling (For Lifetime Contribution)
Explore your career opportunity: Is this Sarkari Job, Dronacharya Award Winner 1985 to 2017 | National Sports Award; is not relevant to your Qualification, Experience, Sector, Company, Location you want to work with; You can FIND ALL Latest Sarkari Jobs Advertisement from Public Sector Units or Departments at Latest State Government Jobs.

All candidates whether in Government Service or in Government owned undertaking or other similar organizations/ Corporations/ Boards/ Bodies or in private employments should forward his/ her application through his/ her Controlling Officer/ Employer for applying to Dronacharya Award Winner 1985 to 2017 | National Sports Award.

About Priyanka Singh

"By Priyanka Singh" - You can find Author Priyanka Singh on Google+. For any questions or comments you might have, contact via email at indialistclassifieds@gmail.com Our Employment News or Free Job Alert will help in getting all those vital information that can help you to select your best career option with just an email subscription. Subscribe to our Daily Employment News or Free Job Alert right now to get daily job updates in your mail box.

Check Also

ESIC Recruitment 2019-20 Admit Card Download: 2258 UDC Clerk, Stenographer Vacancies

Employees State Insurance Corporation ESIC Recruitment 2019-20 UDC, Stenographer Vacancies  The Phase- I Preliminary Examination for the …

AAVIN Milk DCMPU LTD Recruitment 2019-20: 62 Factory Assistant, Office Executive, Manager, Private Secretary, Technician Posts

Name of the District Cooperative Milk Producer Union: The Madurai District Cooperative Milk Producers’ Union …

HP Vidhan Sabha Secretariat Sachivalaya Direct Recruitment 2019-20 Notification

Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly Secretariat (HP Vidhan Sabha Sachivalaya) invited applications from eligible candidates for recruitment …

error: Content is protected !!